Charter Arms revolvers vs Taurus revolvers

bricz75

Which is better overall? Charter Arms revolvers or Taurus revolvers?

Which company makes better .38 revolvers? Charter Arms of Taurus

Which company makes better .44 special revolvers? Charter Arms or Taurus?

I'd go with Charter Arms. I have no recent experience with Taurus, but I've seen many complaints.

Charter Arms makes a good revolver. In fact, out of the .38 snubs I've tried made by Charter Arms, S&W, and Ruger in the last five years, the Charter Arms wins in the areas of:
1) barrel/cylinder gap
2) cylinder end-shake
3) lock up tightness
4) timing

For cylinder throat diameter Charter Arms and Ruger passed, S&W failed.

Charter Arms' CS is second to none. Ruger will be nice nice nice on the phone, but they don't fix anything. S&W's CS is about the same as Ruger's, except for the nice nice nice on the phone part.

Charter Arms's CS is polite and businesslike on the phone, and fast and efficient regarding turn around. You'll get your gun back quick, and it'll be repaired.

Charter Arms only falls short as far as the trigger, imo.

Keep in mind the .44 will cost you about $1 each time you shoot it.

My father had a Taurus Judge... hated it, but did sell on consignment, and put the money on a H&K USP Compact in .40. Converted it to LEM for him.

Even though I prefer S&W revolvers, I do want to get a .44 Bulldog. Probably one of the older ones, in a 3" barrel. I know it is what the Son of Sam used, but still think it is a very utilitarian revolver.

Charter Arms is made here in the USA, has excellent customer service, and has been making .38s and .44 specials for many years.

Leaving aside the "buy American" angle, (and the "Clint" comment) the Taurus is the better and more solid design (it should be, it's mainly S&W). But Taurus is too often the victim of sloppy workmanship while Charter guns are well enough made that the design defects can be overlooked in the interests of its advantages, mainly lower cost.