Charter 2000 Bulldog or Taurus 650 CIA?

catmath 1911

Hello All,

I am trying to decide between these two revolvers for carry, and I am interested in hearing feedback from members who have had any experience with either one. Also, could you possibly give a report on accuracy of these two snubbies? I am not looking for a tack driver (Although Taurus's ad seems to state so :confused: ), but I would like to see how they group at say 25 yards? www.gunblast.com States the Bulldog will do 1" at 21 yards, which I find Intriguing. All responses are welcome and appreciated!

catmath 1911

Greeting's Cat,

I have no experience with either one; but I have read various
write-up's on the Taurus. Looks to me like Taurus has improved
somewhat, from the day's of the old model 82. I would be very
interested to know myself which is the better gun? When the
Charter's first came out, I owned a "Off Duty" 2" barrel .38
Special. It was very inexpensive, and rivaled the Smith model
36 "Chief's Special". While I still preferred the Smith, the little
Charter was a good gun, with a great value. I understand that
Charter Arms has since changed hands several times; so to
truthfully answer your question, I just don't know.

Follow Up: I did have a LEO partner onetime, that carried
the Charter Bulldog .44 Special for a while. I never heard
him complain about it.

Best Wishes,
Ala Dan, N.R.A. Life Member

Compare them side by side if you can before you buy.I wasn't impressed at all by the Charter 2000's i've seen.I'd love to see them make it,but i'm wary.

I have pondered the same question...throw in the S&W 340/360, Ruger sp101 etc....I got to shoot a CIA 650 a couple of days ago..
I was impressed. The DAO trigger was actually better than my old sp101. Its heavy enough to actually shoot 357 loads and not
kill your hand/wrist. I only put 20 rnds thru it but it seems to be as accurate as any other snubbie I have shot.