Catostrophic failure

Shin-Tao

I have been toting an HP-22 Pheonix for almost 2 years as my CCWs' backup. It's such a thin pistol that I can conceal it with ease.
It has been accurate and reliable.

Now it is non-functional. The mainspring has bent itself into uselessness and the peice that would be a "guide rod" in a larger pistol is broken.

This happened the day after I received an extended barrel kit wich somehow didn't fit.

And it also seams that Pheonix Arms is one of those companies that hasn't heard of the internet. I can't find a web page anywhere.

1)How can I get replacement parts?

2)How can I get the new barrel to fit?

3)Do these failures mean the pistol is an official POS?

Good thing for you that you never actually had to use it! Throw it in the trash, and get a real gun, like a Glock 26, or a S&W snubby for a backup. Come on, a Phoenix? Have you fired more than 10 rounds thru it? Reliable? By what standard? Personally, I don't carry any gun unless I have fired over 500 rounds thru it, even a Glock.

Thank you gentlemen. Yes. Sage advice.

For the sake of argument, if I wasn't going to throw it away, but seek to repaire it, how would I go about it?

The Phoenix is fine for plinking but is not a durable, reliable, or desireable in the least for defense. If that is not all you can afford, I'd suggest you get something with a better track record.

Sexditto. Hm...;)

The Phoenix looked like a great gun, and the price was right,so I bought one. It showed wear before 50 rds had been put through it, and the multiple safeties were redundant and potentially dangerous. It is gone, gone, gone. The P-32 is so much better, I can't begin to describe it.

For a Spring - Wolf Springs are a good source... they can get you a spring for about ANY application.
For the guide rod? Keep an eye out on the local gun shows for the guys with the parts bins.