Can't decide on rifle caliber!

Status
Not open for further replies.

CC268

Hey guys, so I can't for the life of me decide between the .243 and .308. It will be my first rifle (however I have a lot of rifle experience and have done a decent amount of hunting, just never had my OWN gun).

I will be target shooting, hunting coyote and deer (mule and white tail). I don't care to keep the coyote pelt by the way. Anyways, the guy who owns a local gun shop by me is saying to go with the .308 as it is just a better overall round. My big worry is that the .308 is gonna kick like a mule and have terrible recoil as I have never shot one. I know the .308 would also allow me to do some big game if I decided to do elk or something. Anyways, tough decision.

Anyways, just want to hear your guys' opinions.

The .308 will have considerably more recoil than a .243, all else being equal. Unfortunately, all else isn't equal. While it's a virtual guarantee that the .308 will have "more" recoil, how much more and how much it bothers you will depend on both your perception of recoil and the specifics of the gun.

However, the .243 is an excellent choice for what you've described and I would personally pick it over the .308 every day and twice on Sunday.

It won't take long for someone else to come along and give you the exact opposite opinion, already happened if you count the gun shop guy.

You can't go wrong. If recoil is an issue, then .243. With a heavy rifle in .308 you won't notice recoil much and you can frequently pick up .308 ammo at a considerable discount. Both are suitable for any game except bear and elk where .308 gets the nod.

For the uses you have described, I personally would choose the .243. No doubt the .308 will take larger game and increase the odds of a kill on smaller game. It also has a greater range. But I don't see the .308 as a general purpose rifle (for the same reasons I don't see my 30.06 add a general purpose rifle - but even more so).