Caliber choice 22-250 vs 223AI

Status
Not open for further replies.

KMAY

So guys i kinda have a problem on picking a caliber for my new Stevens 200. I just picked up one of the 7mm-08 guns at academy for 215bucks and am selling the barrel and have found 2 barrels to replace.

Let me first start off by saying that i am new to relaoding but whichever caliber i get i will reload for it. That being said, both barrels are SS Varmint contour, fluted and have a 1:9 twist. And now for the dilema. One of the barrels is 22-250 and the other is 223AI.

So fellas which would you buy and why? They are both the same price used and very affordable. This is manly going to be a bench gun but will pull double duty as my varmint/preadator rifle until i can afford to get another.

22-250 . great for reloading... can be a .22 lr, 22 mag, 22 hornet, 222, 223, and a 22-250 capable of great things.

guess i will be the first to say .223... 22-250s mean more powder,,,cost of brass is much higher,, harder on barrels.... I have both calibers and have had just as much performance from 223 with heavy bullets than with 22-250

You have to fire form 223 brass to 223 AI. It's not that bad, but you have to fire the 223 rounds through your gun before you can reload them.

I'd go 22-250 for that reason alone.

I have a CZ 550 American in 22-250 and I also have a Browning A Bolt in 223 and they are both great guns and calibers. The only advantage to the 223 is the supply of cheap ammo which is sort of defeated here because it's a 223AI barrel. The 22-250 will shoot any bullet weight the 223 shoots flatter and faster by 3 to 4 hundred feet per second and they use the same bullets.