CA gun laws

killgore

Inactive
Hello people! I am new here and found out some great info so far. I need some help though...

I am a resident of Virginia currently and I am planning a move to the Sacramento area of California. Being ignorant until recetly I have not looked into CA's gun laws. I own a Bushmaster Xm15 series rifle. It's on the CA ban list as most of you know.

My question is, is there ANY possible way to own this gun in the state of California? I dont want to give up my favorite rifle and I wont move there if that's so. That's how much I believe it's such a crock of BS there because of the laws set into place during those LA shootouts a long time ago.

I have no problem legally registering or whatever may be needed to own my rifle and move to CA. Is it possible at all to bring this gun with me?

wow! Thanks for the replies! This is sad to me. Though I figured it was next to impossible to get myself and my guns there.

Let me ask another question; Is there currently any legislation in place to get rid of this law or at least relax it to a point that could be bearable?

Very unfortunate...

Well I really would enjoy living near the Sierra Foothills with the sun and somewhat of 4 seasons. I cant stand cold weather. But I am an American tried and true. I served 9 years in the 101st Airborne and I am not going to give up my guns because 2 idiots decided to shoot at the cops in the 90's. I'm just not down with that!

This is very unfortunate for me now. I've got to admit that this single law is going to break my decision. Ridiculous!

killgore said:
Well I really would enjoy living near the Sierra Foothills with the sun and somewhat of 4 seasons. I cant stand cold weather.
It gets cold enough in Sacramento to freeze exposed water pipes on occasion. Weeks on end of valley fog can chill a person to the bone!

Is there currently any legislation in place to get rid of this law or at least relax it to a point that could be bearable?