Buckshot choke

davem

Does a choke used just for buckshot produce a better pattern? I thought you had to try a variety of chokes and there was no way to tell what works best until testing various loads and chokes?

I don't feel they would be enuff better than a Mod or Imp Mod to buy one if you already have one or both of those...

But I have ZERO experience with them... In fact this is the first I heard of one designated for buckshot...

Brent

Davem,

I agree, the pattern board is your best friend.:)

I have used Carlson's "Coyote Choke" with #4 buck, while hunting coyotes. It is devastating on the dogs. I almost cut one coyote in half at about 50 yards.:cool:

But I'm sure your mileage may differ.:D

One round of Universal #7 1/2 field load and one round of Olin milspec 00 Buck, from my old 70's Remington Wingmaster, factory 30" full (fixed) choke barrel. Range was 40 yards.

870-40_zps38954085.jpg

If a designated buckshot choke will beat that, it's doing pretty good.

Does a choke used just for buckshot produce a better pattern? I thought you had to try a variety of chokes and there was no way to tell what works best until testing various loads and chokes?

I have an 18" FNH SLP that came with a threaded barrel and a couple of flush mount choke tubes. I bought a few choke tubes from Carlson as well and I'm use the improved cylinder one for HD. My other pump shotguns do not have a chokes and just using a cylinder bore. If I got into hunting the I would buy a shotgun with a longer barrel and would be threaded to accommodate a choke tube.

I'm using the improved cylinder choke so I can switch out and use slugs.

I have to apologize for my first post.... I had a chemo brain moment and was thinking M and IM related to what I use for slugs:o

Brent