Brand new guy here but long time milsurp collector

mtbikerwvu

Like I said, I am a newbie to this forum and wanted to say hello. I am a collector of wayward milsurps and I like to call them my misfit toys. I enjoy restoring and getting them back into shape. My most recent purchase is a Enfield No.4 Mk1 T with a missing No.32 scope which I will find. I try to collect a wide variety of arms but try to stay in the WWI and II time period.

IMG_3037.jpg

This rifle is only 2 days old in my collection so any information and or questions just jump in.:)

Do you have a TR stamp on the left wrist beneath the serial numbers, a T stamp near the ejector screw and does your serial number begin with a 3?

Tiki.

Welcome to the forum.

Nice looking (T). If you are contemplating buying one of the repro No32's I wouldn't. They look OK on a wall hanger but they do not track well. Wait till you find a real No32. You can get them rebuilt, there are a few old Brit armors around that offer this service.

Warren Wheatfield rebuilt mine, and it has been very usable, tracking is great. He de-laminated the lens and polished them, greatly improving clarity. Adjustments are firm and positive.

Serial number should start with a letter, not a number, like B310XX.

1944 No4 Mk1 (T) BSA
finished01.jpg

finished02.jpg

LOL, yes to all 3.:rolleyes: and yep, I will wait for a real No.32 scope to come along. Yours looks awesome! Yes the serial number begins with both a letter prefix and the number 3.:)

How hard are No.32 scopes to find in original working condition? I must admit the reproductions are tempting but I will wait for the right one.:D

Good to hear ... the reason I asked is because these rifles are prone to being faked, assuming you did your own due diligence.

Here's mine I restored from a barreled action ... 1944 BSA + No32 Mk1 with Case STG TEL No8 + Transit Chest + kit ...

pum44.jpg

2ik5o9l.jpg

1zgni9.jpg

2r7ssna.jpg

2zfsopk.jpg

2qny6pv.jpg

Tiki.