Both eyes open pistol shooting?

Model12Win

Hello friends! Well I've been shooting handguns for about 4 years now. I've always used a one eye closed technique when it comes to shooting, but recently I've heard that for defensive pistol shooting it might be a good idea to use two eyes instead of just one. I recall being taught it's best to shoot with your one dominant eye and to squeeze the other one shut, so this is news to me. If you think about it, it makes sense. I could see how having two open eyes would be better for situational awareness.

What are your thoughts on this? Do you like to shoot with both eyes open when shooting pistols? What are the pros of doing this? I've read many threads were people mention that they do this, but no threads about why it would be preferable over a one eye closed approach. What do you think?

Thanks for your time!

Tried both eyes open, can't do it. defensive situation is different then target shooting. I'm not clearing my house with one eye open. More then likely I will be point shooting if it comes to that, two eyes open. If I have time or have to aim, I have already identified my target, it's instinctive to switch to one eye and very quick.

Two eyes are better than one, but only if it works for you.
If having them both open causes blurry or double vision, then there's no advantage.
Sometimes slightly squinting the non dominant eye works, too.
Use what ever method allows the best view of sights and target.
And it might change, depending on the available light and distance from eyes to sights.

Keep em both open -

Typically your master eye automatically overrides the other eye so keeping both eyes open just lets you stay situationally aware better.