Best handgun for a newbie

Beezer

I'm fairly new to shooting. The one handgun I've shot was a baby Glock .45. I didn't really like it. I'd like to get something not quite a power that is fun to shoot. I'm not necessarily looking for a home defense weapon, just something to enjoy shooting at the range.

Any suggestions on guns I should test next time I am at the range?

For a fun range gun, it is hard to beat a .22 LR revolver or semi-auto pistol. Ammo is very inexpensive and recoil is almost non-existent. For a first gun, I always like to recommend a .22 to help establish the fundamentals of shooting and safety. Recoil and muzzle blast are the two biggest obstacles to overcome for the new shooter, and both of which are minimal in .22.

Two specific guns to consider are the Ruger .22 automatics: Mark III or 22/45 are the two models in current production. Both can be had new or used fairly inexpensively. Despite the reasonable price, both are reliable, quality made guns.

My .02 cents.

Go get a Ruger 22/45 and never look back. It's hours of fun at the range, wonderfully accurate and can be found at a great price point for most.

Last edited:
Beretta 92FS.

Its a full size 9mm which makes it a great shooter, its very accurate, very reliable, its not too pricey, and ammo for it continues to be affordable and available.

John

Range guns...

If your budget or requirements are open, Id look at a Glock 34 in 9x19mm or a 35 in .40S&W(that can be converted to .22LR or .357sig with extra parts).
Glocks are simple & safe to use. It could be a great range gun.
The 5.25" barrel XDm in .40/9mm or the CORE format Smith & Wesson M&P 5" barrel can also work. You could add a target sight to the CORE model for fun or match use.
Other models like the Browning Hi-Power, CZ-75, 92FS, Walther PPQ, SIG P226R SAO, HK P30L or HK45 can be good too.

Stay safe & have fun;
CF