Best Beam Scale

stephensackro

I know I'm going to get a lot of different opinions on this but, who makes the best beam scale regardless of price. I only load handgun rounds so high capacity is not needed. I have been using an old Lyman scale that I bought in the 70's and it seems to still work fine but is there anything better than my old Lyman out there?

I've also been reading up on beam scales here. There's a ton of searchable threads I'm studying but haven't decided. Still using the Lee that came with a single stage kit and just ordered a classic turret after many years.

I'm not familiar with all of the new products out there, but the 1978 vintage RCBS 5-0-5 is a real champ. Still use it regularly, and it is still spot on. I use checkweights to verify its calibration prior to each loading session.

All the Best -

Bayou

Im going with the dillon eliminator for $90. Watched a couple of videos, the poise system looks much easier to discern than the lower priced Lee scale.

Like Bayou, I use the RCBS 5-0-5 scale as made by Ohaus. Not sure if Ohaus is still making RCBS's scales for them.

Don

RCBS for me too

I like the RCBS 5-0-5 too. I recently bought some check weights and it's still correct even after having owned it for decades.

If your beam scale is still working I'd be quite happy spending the money on other reloading supplies (bullets, powder, primers) or other reloading equipment.

Example: I've always thought the RCBS strip priming setup is neat but I just can't seem to fork over the money to try it.

Handgun wise there's some really interesting premium self defense bullets out their that might be fun to try.

P.S. I'm also using an RCBS 5-0-5 and am quite happy with it. I got a cheap electronic scale years ago as a gift and it's just...meh. So I soldier on with the 5-0-5 and am really quite happy with it.

RCBS 5-0-5

I have been using the RCBS 5-0-5 beam scale for more the 40? years and it is extremely accurate.