best 9mm for wife

Status
Not open for further replies.

bner21

Inactive
I am new to the world of pistols. I have a Ruger SuperBlackhawk 44 mag., in order for my wife to go shooting with me she says she wants a 9mm. I don't know that much about 9mm's, so I was wondering if I could get some input on which would be the best brand or model? Thank you.

I forgot to mention, my father-in-law, taught my wife to shoot, with a Ruger 9mm.

[This message has been edited by bner21 (edited September 09, 1999).]

There are many fine pistols to choose from. I would suggest trying several at your range (if they rent). The Glock 19 would be the first 9mm I'd recommend.

It's largely a matter of personal preference. She's just gotta go to a gunshop and handle as many as she can to see which ones "feel" right. If possible, rent some at a range and try them out. Once you've narrowed it down to a few models that you like, folks here can give you much more helpful advise. Good luck.

I prefer any of the 9mm Glocks for my own use, but the Kahr pistols have one of the most comfortable grips I've tried. I just don't care for the Kahr's trigger action and heavy weight.

Also, I'll second the others opinion that you should try to take her to a range that rents pistols so that she can try them for herself before you buy. Good luck.

Impressed by Kahrs when I tried it at a Trade Show.

Don't skip the compact versions of the CZ75. They have one of the best triggers in the industry and small handed folks find CZs so comfortable. Then again, there's plenty of wimmen with hands large enough so that even a Beretta 92 isn't any problem.

------------------
Vigilantibus et non dormientibus jura subveniunt

Get to the gun shops!!! Do not limit youself to the 9mm either. If she is not as experienced a shooter, you might want to consider a revolver.

In 9mm:
Sig 239
Glock 19
Smith & Wesson 3913/3913LS/908
Kahr K9(my wife loves them)
sig 225

In a five or sixgun:
Ruger SP-101 (.22, .32, .38, .357, 9mm)