Best 12gague with a pistol grip for home defence.

Find the local gun shop that handles police tradeins and get a used 870 with 18" bbl. Most cruiser guns get shot very little, they do get dinged up which affect the value a bit.

There's tons of old threads here about why PGs on shotguns are egregious, I suggest you read up on them before you make a possibly tragic mistake.

If you don't mind jumping through a couple of hoops...

ss3s.jpg

http://www.serbu.com/shorty.htm

Best with a pistol grip?

From what I have been read & told, there aren't any - meaning your better off with a full length synthetic stock, especially in a 12 gauge. I guess in a 410 & maybe a 20 gauge the pistol grip might not be a bad alternative, but recoil of a 12 is said to be vicious when set up this way.

I fired hundreds/thousands of rounds of 00 from PG shotguns because I had to.As an instructor, I had to teach hundreds of rookies to shoot, and MD DOC, in its infinite wisdom, decreed that they had to be able to shoot from the hip like John Wayne.

As an instructor,I had to qualify and score over 90% to keep my certification. I did,but it took more work to get the hits.Many rookies had trouble qualifying with the shotgun, and scores from the hip were much lower even with troops used to shotgunning.

After all that training and practice, if I ever have to use my shotgun in a crisis, it will be fired from the shoulder and have a standard stock.
The sights will be used at anything over contact distance.

OTOH, if some enemy is coming after me with a shotgun, I fervently hope his has a PG.

Nuff said....

Last edited:
Many folks think that in a home defence situation, a shotgun is best because it doesn't require precise aiming.

Wrong.......think of a 12 ga shotgun as a .73 cal rifle. Even shooting from the hip, which takes a lot of practice to do well, a full stock is quicker and more accurate for most people.