Arisaka Type 38 questions please help

snowman748

I'm new to the page and this is my first post so please be patient with me.

Ok, I recently picked up a heavily bubba'd Japaneses Arisaka...after some research I found that it is a Type 38 Series 5 carbine manufactured in the Nagoya Arsenal between 1933-1940 (I could be wrong but this is my best guess based on the markings).

Ok I purchased it at a gun show for $80, I might have over paid a bit but last time I did something like this with a Turkish 8mm mauser it worked out for me. The guy I bought it from said it was chambered in "6.5 Jap", I'm assuming 6.5x50...after I bought it and walked a few tables down another guy asked me what it was and said he had some 6.5 Jap ammo for it, as I was looking at the ammo to buy it his buddy chimmed in and said NOT to buy the ammo because he had "looked at the rifle earlier and it was chambered in 6.5x57 NOT 6.5 Jap". He then told me about how i could load 257 Roberts with 6.5 bullets after a little work necking up the cartridge but he didn't even try to sell me anything. At first I was a little bummed out because I tend to believe the second guy over the first since he didn't gain anything but instead lost his buddy a sell by telling me. I plan to do a chamber cast before I do anything else, then check the head spacing (if possible) but after some research it seems 6.5x57 is a pretty capable cartridge and not to far off of 7mm-08 which I've been wanting for a while.