Are there any calibres you are or were drawn to without...

Pond James Pond

.... having had any personal experience of them?

(I split the title as it seemed bit long)

I ask the question as I recently found myself awake and unable to sleep so I let my imagination wonder and I started thinking about what guns I’d like if they were but a wave of a wand away.

And I found myself wanting guns in chamberings I have no experience of.

Namely a semi in 10mm, a bolt gun in 260 Rem and last but not least a nice Super Redhawk in 480 Ruger.

I can’t tell you why but I am convinced I’d enjoy these cartridges despite never having even seen them.

Have you ever had that feel and why do you think this is?

Absolutely . . .

Yes. I was sweeping up my range brass, which was mostly 9mm and 380. Someone's 45 acp got mixed in. The 45 was so much bigger than the 9mm and 380 that I knew I had to get one and try it out. I bought a 1911 45 made by Rock Island and I put an after market grip on it with finger ridges and a ported barrel extension supposedly to help fight barrel rise. (see pic below)I have sent many, many 45 auto rounds down range with it. I roll my own just like all of my handgun ammo. I think it came with two magazines and now I have five. At least twice I've taken it to the range and forgot to bring a mag so I bought one. Have a $40 Wislon Combat mag that I bought because that was all they had. It runs really well, no big surprise there. So yeah, I got interested in and bought a 45 auto before I ever shot one.

Life is good.
Prof Young

Attachments

• 45.jpg
    45.jpg
    111.4 KB · Views: 53
Accuracy International .338 Lapua Mag, something a bit more accurate at 600 -2000 yards than the .50BMG.

Every single one...:D....until I had enough personal experience with some to recognize I didn't need experience with certain others.