Any Hog Hunters?

jwise

I've only been out for hogs once, and we didn't find any, so I'm not experienced at ALL! So, please help me out. I really am not in to hunting, but there's something about hogs that make me want to get up early and put them in my sights. I have never known anyone w/ land enough to hunt on, until now (it's in East Texas, if that matters.)

Ok, so the stage is set; I don't know anything about hunting, much less hunting hogs, but I really want to start. I think I've already got the right gear, but you guys tell me.

Winchester 94 Trapper; 44mag
VEPR, scoped; 308
Bushy Shorty, red dot sight; 223
Ruger Vaquero; 44mag (I know, it's not a rifle.)
Mossberg 590, ghost rings; 12gauge

Ok, what would you recommend that I take? Which is the best for which circumstance? How big of hogs should I expect in East Texas? Is a 44mag (pistol and/or rifle) big enough to take it down? Is a 223 big enough to take it down? I sure as HELL hope a 12 gauge slug or 308 is big enough!

Thanks for the help!

J. Wise

jwise,

I am not an expert, but I play one on the internet. ;)

My experiance in South Texas is that a .44 Mag carbine or revolver is good on hogs. The biggest I have taken with the handgun is about 200#, but I wouldn't hesitate to use it on bigger ones. The .308 should kill anything you run into. I have killed quite a few hogs with the .223 (AR15 and Mini 14). They are great if you get into a big bunch. I have killed up to 140# with the AR. I don't know how much I would trust the .223 with anything bigger, unless your drilling them between the eyes. :eek: The red dot should be great for low light. If I had to pick out of what you have, I would take both the AR and the Vaquero. No such thing as too much firepower. :D

Good luck,

David