Ammunition suggestions for a .270?

gators44

Inactive
Hey, This is going to be my first whitetail hunt in the fall. I had just purchased a .270 savage this week and was wondering if anyone can point me in the right direction as to what kind of ammo to buy. I know the best bullet is one that pierces the heart and lungs yada yada yada...but I just need some sort of idea please. Keep in mind I have NO experience whatsoever in this area. Thanks

I've always had luck with the terminal performance of the ballistic tip in the .280 caliber. The soft point will do the trick too (and tend to leave a cleaner wound track when bones are hit.) I've never walked more than a hundred yards, and that one was a ballistic tip that hit a rib and pulled a JFK.

ok what's the difference between the two ballistic and soft point? What are the pros and cons? what other types are there?

ok what's the difference between the two ballistic and soft point? What are the pros and cons? what other types are there?

The ballistic tip has a plastic inverted cone at the tip and it extends into the body of the bullet in a way that forces FAST expansion. It is not for thick skinned game as it drops all the energy so fast that it is less likely to reach the vitals in an animal such as a fat bear or most African plains animals.

The soft point is a jacketed lead bullet but instead of plastic tip the lead is exposed. Often the jacket is thicker at the base of the bullet and some are bonded metal to metal. Some premium soft points are framed with internal connections.

Let your rifle make the decision for you. In other words, buy 4 or 5 different brands of ammo, and take them to the range. Use the one that shoots most accurately. I suppose I'd try 130 grain loads, but I'd also try some 150 grainers too, just to see how they shoot.