Action On Remington Model 11

The Rattler

I have owned my used Remington Model 11 since my high school days, around 53 years ago. While it was regularly used a couple or 3 bird seasons in the early 1990s, it was basically unused from the 60s until 3 years ago when I started shooting clays, although I shot it sparingly due to its age.

Last week, I tried to open the action on my Remington Model 11, but I could not make the bolt slide back. I could not make the bolt handle move. I tried it for multiple days unsuccessfully. I started to use a hammer mallet, but did not for fear of harming something. I took it to my gunsmith and he manually got the action open right away. That was somewhat embarrassing. After he opened it, I could open it without any problem.

Now, during routine cleaning, the action was open. I did not remove the bolt. I unwisely tried to see if I could control the speed of the bolt closing like can be done with my Benelli Montefeltro. I depressed the button on the side of the receiver with my right hand while restraining the bolt handle with my left hand. I heard a click, but when I let up restraining of bolt handle, it did not budge. The action did not close.

Now, I can't close it at all. Depressing the button again does not help. Pulling back on the bolt handle & releasing again does not work whether or not I depress the button again. I want to avoid taking it back to my gunsmith and having him close it by doing something simple again.

Is there something I can try that won't risk harming the gun? Do I just need to "man - up" and force the bolt handle forward as hard as I can, or perhaps strike it with a mallet designed not to harm metal? Or, should I take it back to my gunsmith again with my tail between my legs? Of course, if that is the wisest thing to do, I am more than willing to do it.

Does all of this suggest that something is mechanically wrong with the gun?

Any advice will be appreciated. Thanks.