9 mm dies

Danb6177

Im very new to this, actually still in the reading and learning phase. I did purchase a rock chucker single stage press and some other stuff. I wanna start with 9mm. RCBS has a die set that says 9mm luger 9x21/9x23. Is this the proper die set for normal 9mm semi automatic pistol rounds?
Thanks!

Hornady. It is affordable. Seating die has guide sleeve to keep bullet straight. Free bullets too.

-TL

Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk

Look at your gun!

First off, you must look at your gun's cartridge stamped on its slide or barrel.
I think you most likely have a 9mm, 9x19, 9mm Luger (Those are all the exact same thing) as that is by far the predominant chambering.
Take a look at this https://www.starlinebrass.com/pistol-brass and note that Starline makes 8 different 9mm cases. Click on 9mm Luger, and see how many names that goes by. Starline's 9mm+P is also 9mm Luger (dimensions are identical).
If you have a 9mm Luger none of the other 9mm brass will work. You can gather free 9mm Luger brass at most ranges, as most people discard it because loaded ammo in 9mm is so cheap.
Then when you are clear on the brass for your gun, you can shop for dies. Assuming 9mm Luger:
https://www.midsouthshooterssupply.com/dept/reloading/dies/9-mm-luger
Lee dies work just fine, are cheaper and they make some innovations like their factory crimp die. All can be included in a one set. If you want top quality, finish and looks, I like Redding dies. They cost MORE, and they make even more expensive sets. Since you are starting you DO NOT NEED those.
You can load top quality loads in Lee dies.

Last edited:
Danb6177,

Welcome to the forum. Please pop over here and introduce yourself to the community.

Yes, that die set will work, assuming it is their carbide set.