9.3 x 62mm Mauser

gmarr

Ok, maybe my ignorance is showing here but while I've heard of this caliber I have no experience with it. What standard or 'American' caliber does this equate to? I've used the 8 x 57mm and the 7 x 57mm and of course the 30-06and 300 WSM. Ballistics and recoil? Any help will be appreciated.

A very fine cartridge introduced for African hunting .It is in some countries the minimum for hunting dangerous game .It was quickly adopted in Europe for hunting wild boar and red deer. It seems to be seeing a revival.In Europe a number of semi-auto rifles are available for boar hunting like the Browning, Benelli , etc. In performance it's a bit above our 35 Whelen. Good for anything in North America.A very fine cartridge.

yup very common, and have been for a number of years here. really puts them down

shot a boar with a borrowed semi-auto when I was knocked on my back, he had practically no head left

The closest American analog is the 35 Whelen, which uses a 358 diameter bullet instead of the .366~.368 diameter bullet used by the 9.3x62.

The 9.3x62 is eligible to take "Class A" dangerous game in some African countries, notably Zimbabwe. Energy wise and momentum wise it is about 10% less than the 375 Holland and Holland.

It is still an easy conversion, simply screw on a new barrel to an M98 action and set headspace. The 9.3x62 is not a "stopper" round by any stretch of the imagination, but if you only had one rifle to do it all, it would be hard to choose a more well rounded cartridge than the 9.3x62 if you were in a place like Africa, although one hunter I know from Zimbabwe thinks the 338 Win Mag is a better choice for a do anything rifle.

Jimro

Converting a full-length Mauser 98 action to 9,3X62 is just flat easy: New barrel, add a crossbolt, and add a recoil pad. If the rifle is under 9 lbs, add a recoil reducer as well. Not because the 9,3X62 is a vicious kicker, but because 290 gr bullets at 2,500 fps will move you around.