6.5 jap value?

huntwv

Inactive
Hey guys - Newbie here, i just purchased a couple Jap rifles, one was a 6.5 looks to be original, and it has the Mum intact and the "wings" on the sight. What would the typical value be? i will take some pics and upload them. but just as a general idea how much could this gun be worth?

thanks
Tommy

I agree with Mike, only the Type 99 had the A/C sights.

A original unrestored Arisake can go for north of 1K if in very nice condition with a intact Mum. The Arsenal and Series well make a difference in value.

Very few still have the original Urushi finish on wood as most GI's refinshed these on the way home aboard ship. Urushi is derived from the Sumac tree and is poisonous. There are many documented cases of men aboard ship returning from the wars end devolving skin rash and respiratory problems. Caused by GI's sanding on captured Jap rifles. Aboard ship this fine dust would be spread be the ventilation system and effect the entire crew.

A type 99 in good condition with original finish intact, removed Mum, is a $300-400 rifle. If it retains the Mum it can be double that.

This Nagoya Arsenal series five with Mid-War Type 30 bayonet has a mismatched bolt and is missing the Mum. It does retain the Urushi finish and has about 70% of the blue finish remaining. The chrome bore is very nice. Original A/C sights with reproduction sling, muzzle cover and mono-pod.
arisaka01.jpg

Pics

here are some pics... Please let me know what you think... from what i can tell this is a 6.5... but im a newbie so im not sure...lol

thanks

Attachments

• DSC_0032.jpg
    DSC_0032.jpg
    52.5 KB · Views: 222
  • DSC_0033.jpg
    DSC_0033.jpg
    60.4 KB · Views: 182
  • DSC_0034.jpg
    DSC_0034.jpg
    81.6 KB · Views: 190
Looks like a Nagoya Arsenal 1923-1945 series 28.... (not sure what that means, but thats the markings on the link you sent...