.54 cal. sabot 1 in 60 twist?

fariaguard

Inactive
It is OK to use .45 and or .50 cal bullets that are short and heavy for caliber in a .54 cal. sabot in a rifle with a 1 in 60 twist?

I have a Lyman Great Plains front stuffer in .54 cal w/ a 1 in 60 twist. I understand this is optimal for round balls. At the time of purchase I was a newbie to black powder and did not know I should have purchased the Great Plains Hunter with a faster twist to stabilize longer conical bullets.

I'm trying to avoid spending another $400 on a replacement barrel from Lyman, I want to extend my range and thump on target.

Colorado mule deer and elk are the game. I have access to land but the animals are wary due to human activity and the closest I can get is 125-150 yards. Any load information that has worked for you or thoughts would be helpful?

Thanks!

In all likelihood the 1-60 will not stabilize a bullet well.

But if you simply use a .530" ball, cast out of wheel-weight metal, you will be fine. That will kill an elk fine.

unless Lyman has taken to using harder metals in their barrels and other reasons do not use wheelweight lead in a black powder gun
the alloy is too hard.
Yes you have a cloth patch, but still the lead is too hard on the rifling.
Also a wheelweight alloy makes it too hard to load the ball. It doesn't compress as easily into the rifling, thus more apt to cut your patch.

A 54 caliber round is more than adequate for muleys and pronghorns out to about 250 yd, if you load right and have proper shot placement.
Been doing it here in Wyoming since the late 70's.
But do try and keep your range down to 150 or less.

do I miss? Yeah sometimes, we all do, even with bolt actions.

Practice with your round ball, it will do the job.
A sabotted round really isn't necessary.