45LC rifles

swatts

Inactive
I am new at this forum and have a question or two.
Just starting to get into the cowboy action type shooting, am not sure that I will get heavy into the competition but want to start out right and slow.
I just got a U.S. Firearms 45lc cowboy and will get another when the $ come around. I am really looking for the right choice for a rifle in the 45lc. Please give me any experiences you have had both good and bad that will help me pick the right one without several mistakes.
Thanks
Louisiana

I have no experience with .45 Colt rifles but the Rossi 92 is a good one in 44-40. Kinda rough out of the box but slicks up nice.

45LC Rifle

I thought that the rifle had to be the same as the pistol in the CASS shoots. That was why I was asking. I need to find the rules dealing with those shoots before I commit to a rifle I guess.
Thanks for the rifle caliber.

Thanks to the gentleman from Mississippi

No you don't have to have the same caliber rifle as pistol. You can even have three different calibers if you want the hassle of keeping up with them. Rossi makes a .45 Colt as does Uberti. I'm just familiar with the Rossi 92 in 44-40 is why I said that. The Marlin 94 is popular you just can't use magnum loads.

Here's the rule book. http://www.sassnet.com/Downloads/RO/SASSHandbook(14).pdf

This is a good place to get information but you might need a thicker skin than what's required here.
Mods there aren't as picky as the ones here. http://www.sassnet.com/forums/

Last edited:
Hawg - I have a Marlin 1894 in 45 Colt, works great, accurate and no leading with cast bullets. Also have Uberti 1866 in 45 Colt, same experience as Marlin but its a little smoother. 1892 Win designes are good also, I just have more trouble with myself using them. Rifle round can be different from pistol round.