45 self-defence ammo

Status
Not open for further replies.

zentao

So what ammo you consider to be the best in .45 ACP?
Federal, Remington GS, ProLoad, PMC? 165 gr, 185, 200, 230? (I have SIG 220)

Thank you in advance

ZenTao

Greetings, sir. I have no personal experience with ProLoad, so I cannot accurately comment on it. In your aluminum-framed SIG-Sauer P220, I think I'd opt for either the Federal 230 gr HydraShok or the Remington Golden Saber in the same weight bullet. I'd make my choice based on what fed 100% (probably both will) and which grouped the very best. Both have high "stats" with regard to stopping power and both should hit close to point of aim as those pistols' sights are generally set for the 230 gr weight bullet. Since velocities and bullet weights are the same, cheaper ball loads or handloads would likely hit at or near the same poa, which is a plus with a fixed sight pistol. Out of my 5" Kimber, the Remington Golden Saber averaged 847 ft/sec while the HydraShok did 872 ft/sec. Best.

zentao - My P220 prefers Fed. HydraShoks, Win. SXT's and Speer GoldDots, in 230gr, in that order. YRMV. :)

------------------
May your lead always hit center mass and your brass always land in your range bag.

~Blades~

In .45 I use 230gr HydraShoks exclusively.
Then all I have to worry about is where to put them...

------------------
Not all Liberals are annoying... Some are Dead.
RAGE AGAINST THE MACHINE
The Critic formerly known as Kodiac

zentao,

I really like Proload ammunition, and in .45 I prefer the 230 gr. loadings, but unfortunately Proload only makes a .45 +P 230 gr, and I am not a fan of +P .45... So I usually go with either Hydrashock or SXT. Goldensabre is good, but for some reason, when I tried it out in my USP, the muzzle flash was a lot more than either the Hydrashock or SXT's... You should try out several brands to see how muzzle flash is for your Sig 220, and to also make sure feeding is reliable and which one is more accurate in your gun...