45-70

oldbear1950

is anyone loading for the 45-70?

I am retired from US COAST GUARD, and was stationed in Kodiak, ALASKA,
twice for a total of 5 and 1/2 years, and had two 45-70, a RUGER NBR 1 and a Marlin 45-70. For Brown bear protection. Never needed it but did load if for that

In the alder brush, the Ruger was easier to carry, but always felt comfortable with the Marlin, knowing I had more than one shot.

Ruger No. 3, and T/C Contender 14". Had a Marlin and a Siamese Mauser for many years, but let them go a few years back, excess to my needs.

Been loading smokeless for the .45-70 since about 83. I don't have any of the old blackpowder guns or reproductions, so never got into loading with black powder.

Have used the Speer 400gr and Hornady 350gr jacketed, and a lot of cast in the 400gr range.

When I had a 45-70, I loaded 3031 under 405 LFN for 1500. Very accurate, but too much recoil for my repaired cervical spine. I got a 450 Bushmaster.

I load for an 1891 vintage trapdoor and a modern (Uberti) replica of the 1885 highwall. Still fooling with the trapdoor for best bullet, including weight from 405 to 500 and diameter from 0.458 to 0.460. She gets holy black or a substitute (still have a supply of Alliant Black MZ). The Italian gets light 300 gr JSP from Sierra and Hornady over IMR-4198, but she did well with a 500 (0.458) over 65 gr BMZ. Delivered 1,319/9.5 Std and pretty good accuracy.

I had one in a Ruger #1 and a Marlin Guide Gun. I used 3031 as mentioned above and used Unique in bullets I cast myself for plinking on the range. No longer have the rifles but have more than i would ever need of gas checked cast bullits.