.380 auto suggestions

joetoad

Inactive
I recently sold a s&w380 because of functioning problems and would like to buy a reliable and accurate replacement for plnking at harmless and possibly harmful things.Thinking about a makarov type or bersa, any suggestions?

If you're not planning on carrying it, the Makarov is the best bargain in the class of gun you're considering. Cheap ammo, and very inexpensive to buy the gun. They're a very reliable shooter, I have a couple myself...

If you like the 380 cartridge, for my hand the Sig 232 REALLY feels nice. It works well too, but the bottom mag release is not ideal.

If you do a search, you'll find lots of nice comments about the Bersa. I have limited personal experience--I shot one once--but it felt nice and shot to point of aim well. Those that own 'em say they're pretty reliable. I own an FEG APK MK II, which is pretty similar, but a bit heavier. I really like it. I can say from experience that it is reliable and accurate.

I have a Walther PPK/S and a SIG P232. The SIG feels better in the hand, is smoother and sleeker (such as for pocket carry), and shoots smoother. The PPK/S is a nice gun, but a little harsh to shoot, and the DA trigger pull is very heavy. The SIG is easier to shoot accurately because of the smoothness.

QS,

It's the Beretta Model 84. Nice, but I opted for the Browning BDA .380 myself (too good of a deal), also manufactured by Beretta, I preferred the overall design better than the Model 84 also. One benefit is that they accept the same magazines!