38 Wadcutters Vs.357 JHPs

dan speakman

Retired Screen Name
I'm a newbie but I've been reading a bunch
for six months and now I'm confused...
Wouldn't a 38SPL 158grn.SWC @1000~1100 fps be more effective than a 357 125grn.JHP @1400 fps from a S&W 686 4inch in home defense? Follow-ups and lower BLAST
would also be a plus.Txs

Dan, NOTHING is more effective than a hit from a 125g JHP at 1400fps. Unless you run over them with a car.

Follow-up shots would be easier with a soft-recoil round, but frankly, you need to make the first shot count.

My walls are hardened...

------------------
"All my ammo is factory ammo"

Dan:

By education and profession -- at least in my early years -- I'm an engineer, so I try to respond to threads like this on TFL with physics-based information. A comparison of the two options you pose follows:
a) The .38 Special (presuming 1050 fps) provides 12442.5 ft/lbs of muzzle energy
b) The .357 magnum provides 17500 foot/pounds of muzzle energy

Since both rounds have essentially the same diameter -- about 9mm or .36 inch -- the "wound dynamics" related strictly to the diameter of the round will be basically equal. Therefore, presuming the same type/construction of rounds (i.e., FMJ versus FMJ, HydraShok versus HydraShok, etc.), the .357 magnum loads should be considerable more effective, about 41 percent if you believe "pure physics".

Of course, the problem is handgun/ammunition efficacy is a LOT more than "text book" physics. For example:
a) Shot placement is absolutely indispensable; will you fire one round more accurately than the other?
b) Your particular "mission" and "environment" are also key. Penetration of automobile glass and bodies, for example, demands a high velocity round and may fundamentally exclude the .38 Special. Similarly, home defense in an apartment building may make the .357 magnum less desirable, due to potential shot carry-through into adjoining homes.