1911 disadvantage??

cyarnell

looking to purchase a 45cal in the near future and seriously looking to start IDPA USPSA type competition. My question is this, considering that most (if not all) 1911 model pistols are 7-8rds is that a "distinct" disadvantage in pistol competitions. Considering that california (where i live) has a 10rd mag limit anyhow i was thinking it couldn't be that big of a disadvantage.

I am new to competition shooting - but in my experience the answer is that it would depend. Are you shooting to compete with others or compete with yourself and get better with your self defense weapon.

There are 2 classes of shooters.
1. Those that compete for the highest score, and spend loads of time and money on impractical 'race' guns and 'race rigs' setups; taming down their handloads, light triggers, etc.

2. My personal philosophy - I use the standard guns that I use for home/self defense. Great practical and inexpensive training under stress.

If you fall into category 1, then the 1911 may be wrong for you. Additionaly the 1911 is, as you know, expensive to feed. If you are in category 2, then it may be the perfect gun.

In IDPA, most of the 1911's are single stack 45's and nearly everyone runs Wilson 47D's as they are the most reliable magazine by far. They beat out some of the factory mags I have used in the past. I'd say the playing field is level in that respect but you operate to a slight disadvantage to the SSP guys with 10+1.

In USPSA, your only competitive option with a single stack 1911 is getting 10 round mags that stick out and shooting Limited 10. If you shoot Limited against the guys with the 140mm STI mags and 20+ rounds of 40, theres no way you can even score fast enough to stay competitive.

Like everything else dealing with Guns and Shooting,

IT DEPENDS