12 Gauge Coyote Round

chewie146

Hey all,

I have a Remington Wingmaster 2 3/4" 12 gauge. I'm attempting to find a coyote load other than slugs that will work for this bad boy. Thus far, I've tried #1 buck from Remington, but it patterned like crap with the chokes I have. The 00 Federal buck was much better, and would reliably place 4-5 pellets in a coyote kill zone out to 35 yards even through the turkey choke. Slugs are excellent, but not exactly fur friendly. If you read my other post a couple weeks back, I did connect on a youngster with a foster slug. It was akin to the damage on a prairie dog from a 223 SP. It was total carnage. That was a target of opportunity, though. The #4s I have from Federal patterned horribly, so I won't be using those for anything other than blasting at cans and the occasional squirrel. Turkey is out for those this year.

Ironically, the best pattern I got with any choke was Federal bulk pack 7.5s. Those won't work. I continue my quest, but I really don't want to spend $3 a shell on coyote ammo. Are there certain loads out there that you all have had better luck with? I ordered some Rio #4 buck from Cabelas, just to see. It was .50 apiece. If it's reliable, but doesn't pattern that well, it will do for home defense and camp duty. If it does pattern well, I've found my load.

So here's the set-up I'll have after the weekend, as far as my gun goes. I will have I/C, Modified, and XFull turkey chokes. The Modified is on order. What say you? Any leads on a solid 2 3/4" shell that won't break the bank and has a reputation for good patterns?

That's on order. I'm just puzzled why I'm having troubles patterning with anything else. The #4 bird seems like it should pattern from a turkey choke. Has anyone here tried patternmaster chokes?