1000-yard hunting with a .308

Status
Not open for further replies.

Theohazard

The other day a young man came in to my LGS looking for a long-range semi-auto .308 rifle. He seemed to know a decent amount about the subject, and the salesperson started going over various options with him. But then it came to light that his specific purpose for the rifle was to hunt elk at 1000 yards. He claimed he had lots of experience shooting at that distance and that he had already taken game cleanly at 800 yards with a .308.

Now, I have no experience hunting big game, and I'm only fairly knowledgeable when it comes to long-range shooting, but I have a pretty good understanding of what a .308 bullet is doing at 1000 yards, and it seems to me that a shot like that -- especially on an elk -- wouldn't be considered a humane hunting practice.

What does the greater hunting community think of this? Considering the bullet has barely more velocity and energy then a defensive pistol round at that distance (though with a bullet that penetrates better), is that an inhumane shot no matter where it's placed? Basically, I'm asking if that shot is always considered to be inhumane, or if it would be acceptable providing the shooter is sufficiently skilled.

308-16vs24.gif

I'm no expert but based on this chart, I would NEVER recommend a 1,000-yard shot on ANY animal! The longest shot I've taken (and made) was a 350-yard on a whitetail buck in AZ, that I took years ago. Only because all the conditions were right (no wind, not rushed, ect)

Horrible idea to hunt at that range.
And for "shooting" at 1000yds there are much better calibers.

Even if capable such as high end military training. The shot isn't ethical. 1000 yard shots should be left to war and exposition. That Elk isn't out to get you. Besides, why wouldn't you be able to get to a closer, more sure range?