0 a rifle

wilford

I am new to shooting.

Do I need to have a rifle or handgun on a rest, or could I just sit at a bench and use my elbow as a rest to sight them in? I am not looking for long-range; just 0 to 50 yards for my 22s and 100 to 200 yards for my 7mm-08. As long as I can hit an upper torso, I will be very happy. Thank you.

Last edited by a moderator:
The rests are usually used because they make it easier for the shooter to hold still and to assume the exact same position behind the gun for each shot, something important for accuracy. Elbows on a bench tend to be too wobbly.

A rest doesn't have to be fancy. A lot of folks use beanbags, but with washed sand inside. One fellow I knew took a common house brick and rolled it up in two or three layers of old bath towels to pad it, then set it on the bench with the brick on one of its wider flat sides and the length running left to right. He set the gun's magazine floor plate on it.

Once you have the gun zeroed, you should try it in the actual positions you expect to use in the field. Some positions can shift the bullet point of impact a bit.

I think this thread belongs in the Art of the Rifle forum, so I will move it there.

Use the steadiest rest possible to get it zeroed. This eliminates "most" of the human error. I like to zero 22's at 50 yards. With most centerfires it is best to start at about 50 yards, then move to 100 to fine tune the zero. Small errors at 50 yards don't show up until you start shooting at longer ranges. With a 100 yard zero there isn't enough drop at 200 to worry about, 2" or so with most rifles.

I would use a rest and you can use just about anything from a cheap rolled up backpacker's foam sleeping pad to a range bag. Just don't let the barrel contact your rest if you don't want to burn a hole in it.