Zeiss Terra VS Vortex Viper HS.

tahunua001

Hello all,
I am looking for a very nice, but relatively inexpensive rifle scope. I am currently considering either a Vortex Viper HS or a Zeiss Terra(hunting turret model). I like vortex optics, but it seems like they are a little hit or miss at times. I have no first hand experience with Zeiss because no one in my area carries them and yet every eye doctor in my area uses equipment made by them so I'm curious. does anyone have any experience with either of these?

They don't call it the Terrable for nothing. The only thing Ziess in that scope is the nameplate. I'm not a Vortex fan by any means, looked through a few and not impressed with any but the Razors but, I'd take one over a Terrable.

There are a lot of scopes better than either in that price range. I'd jump on a Meopta Meopro or Bushnell Elite, the Meopro is basically the old Conquest line Meopta use to build for Ziess.

The Terra line has pretty much nothing in common with the previous Zeiss (IE Conquest) lines. I wouldn't look at it in the same class as anything but the lowest of Vortex scopes, and I am not a huge Vortex guy either.

excellent I'm starting to get the picture. I've never heard of meopta optics though, that's a new one for me. shifting gears yet again, if a fellow can't find any meopta scopes within is $400 price range, what is the overarching opinion on athlon optics in comparison with vortex?
to add a little bit on what I'm after, I don't need a paralax turret or windage/elevation adjustable turrets, I'm not a sniper wannabe. what I really value is clear picture, crisp crosshairs, and zoom levels as close as possible to what the name suggests. I would prefer a 3-9x but a 2x min or 12x max wouldn't be outside the realm of practicality for this rifle.