Wolf 45ACP ammo

K80Geoff

Has anyone out there in TFL land tried any of this ammo?

I bought a box to try out but could not get to the range to shoot it. It seems to be a good bargain but I am concerned about the steel casings and the lacquer all over the case.

Anyone heard anything negative about this particular round. I know that the Wolf 223 ammo sometimes causes problems. How about the 45 ACP.

Geoff Ross

Wolf Ammo

I've been shooting Wolf ammo for 2 years and had absolutely NO PROBLEMS. I built a 9mm for steel shooting and have put about 7,000-8,000 rds. through it without any misfires or feed, extraction/ejection problems. No parts breakage or wear. I tried the 45 with the same results in my auto but in my S&W 625 the cases were hard to eject. I've got some 223 (64 gr bullet) that I want to try in my new Bushmaster V match. As soon as the weather improves, I'll try it out.

All I have shot of Wolf's ammo was 223 Rem and I haven't had one problem.

Plenty of trouble here...

The ONLY failures I've had in my USP 45 were with Wolf ammo. The steel cases are laquered, and when that stuff heats up, it just about fuses to the chamber. I used the stuff in an IPSC shoot about a year ago, and I was thoroughly embarrased. In 3 of the 6 stages I had at least 1 failure to extract. At the time the gun was new, so I thought that was the problem. Since then, it has happened on numerous occasions, and only with Wolf. Several times I have to use a cleaning rod to force the empty shell out. It's pretty embarassing to be at the range and have your gun malfunction like mine has with Wolf. The stuff is absolute garbage, and you can take mine if you want to come get it. If your in the Houston area, I'll give away the few boxes I have left.

Same lacquer is used for military ammo, including 7.62x54R
machinegun ammo. For some unknown reason, lacquer does not