Witloe Revolver, Pa manufacture/info/interest?

wikidoki

Inactive
Hey all, I am new to the forum because i am searching for information on a percussion revolver manufactured in in the mid-1960's in Pennsylvania. It is a Witloe .44 with adjustable target sights. Seems to be high quality with a fantastic trigger. I have no knowledge of these guns and wonder about their value and collectibility. It is in excellent condition and probably was not fired very much. Any and all info is appreciated. Thanks in advance T.C.

The Witloe is one of the hardest replica revolvers to find. They were only in business for a couple of years in late 1950's. Went out of business because they couldn't compete with Navy Arms at that time. Totally American made from scratch, no Italian parts. Made what was called a "Lee" and a "Grant" model.
"Lee" had a Bronze, not Brass, frame and the "Grant" had a Steel frame. R. T. Lane bought up all the left over parts, etc. and produced a few in the mid 1960's. These later revolvers are known as 2nd Generation Witloes. Most were target models.

1st Generation were marked: WITLOE PRECISION INC
COLLINGDALE PENNA USA

2nd Generation were marked: WITLOE
COLLINGDALE PENNA USA

They're apparently pretty collectible. A second gen in a cased set went for 1,500.00 in the 80's

I came across this one in one of those "I want these guns out of my house" deals. It is definately a second generation and it is mounted with Bo-mar adjustable rear and a high "partridge" type front sight. I have the original bill of sale because the fellow (passed away in the late 60's) went and picked it up from the builder with another man whom also bought one. I dont shoot black powder at all (except for an inline muzzleloader) so it probably should go to someone that would use it. It has a three digit serial number and looks to be in great shape. Any idea what a reasonable asking price should be? Thanks T.C.