Windage zero help

Jak300gt

I went to my first medium range rifle course the other day, and preformed horrible. Targets were from 200 to 660 yard. I thought I had my rifle properly zeroed at 300 yards. However I believe I was mistaken. I am completely new in calling the wind witch was a large part of my problems. Witch brings me to my question. What is the proper way to zero a rifle. And should I do it at 100yds rather then 300

When I coached HP (for the AK NG) I'd have people zero at 300. At 200 its easy to slop the rounds in. At 600 you're dealing with Mirage and Wind.

What is critical is calling and plotting your shots then studying the hits, comparing them with calls for each individual shot.

Set your target at 300, shoot a 10 to 20 shot group. The more shots the more accurate the zero.

Now take your target, draw a line from 12 to 6 o'clock, and another line from 3 to 9 o'clock. Count the number of shots in each quarter.

Adjust and shoot again, keeping at it until you get an equal number of shots in each quarter of the target.

Now you have your zero. Doesn't matter if you shoot tight groups or wash tube size groups, anyone can get a zero using this method.

First off, don't sweat it. You have to start somewhere.

Ideally, you have a confirmed zero for elevation for each range you are shooting, and spin the knobs for each target.

What sights are you using? For my LR rig, the rifle is normally zeroed at 200 yards, with the target turrets on the scope reset so I can easily return to this point. I then know the come-ups for any given range.

When I was still shooting Service Rifle across the course, I had zeroes for each range and position, (standing zero and sitting zero were different at 200 yards).

Now, if you don't have target turrets on your scope, or your scope doesn't track consistently (you put 10 1/2 MOA on the scope, does point of impact move that distance), then you could have problems.

What is the longest range you have access to for zeroing?