Winchester Model 70 in 300 WSM with Redfield 3x9 Accu-Range is a Great Combination!

Mac284338

Inactive
To say that I was very pleased would be a gross understatement. The best description I can think of is totally thrilled! I got this thrill from putting a couple dozen rounds through my favorite rifle today (October 2011).

I was hoping for some good group results today to confirm my load selection and sight-in efforts and got exactly what I had hoped for with a 3 shot 1.54 inch group at 300 yards! I also hit the small steel targets at 400, 500 and 600 yards using my scope to maximum potential. This really takes confidence to a new level.

I’m ready for hunting and feel confident I can do my job out to 400 and beyond if/when necessary and conditions are right. I’ve been shooting for 57 of my 62 years and can do pretty good at judging when things are right.

This is not from a rifle w/target-turret scope combination costing thousands. This is from an off-the-shelf Model 70 Winchester 300 WSM sporter weight hunting rifle and a $209 Redfield Accu-Range scope in Leupold QRW mounts. Total cost? Less than $875!!

I admit to using my own reloads consisting of Federal brass, Federal 215 Magnum primers, 72 grs of Hodgdon Superformance and the Barnes 150 gr TTSX (which this rifle seems to prefer). I have chronographed the load at 3245 fps out of this rifle. Safety Note: Although not a maximum load please consult the Hodgdon web-site (www.hodgdon.com) and be sure and work-up to this in your own gun if you choose to try it.

This rifle has pleased me on several occasions now. The first time was feeling the fit and finish and noticing the free-floated barrel (with recessed target-crown) when I bought it in late December last this year after I decided that I wanted a new rifle. Confirming what research I did online at the Winchester web-site (www.winchesterguns.com), the second time was upon cleaning/disassembly when I found the barrel was glass-bedded.