Winchester model 12 issue

AndyAdams

Inactive
I am a newbie to this site, and although I checked the forum, found no question/answer thread on my problem. Hope someone can give me some advice on why my model 12 .16 gauge pump shotgun has developed the following issue, and perhaps how to resolve it.

The gun was made in 1916. It was my Grandad's shotgun, and my first gun. (He fought in France during WWI. I grew up using it for squirrels, dove, and quail and it is the most important gun I own, or will eve rown, and I want to pass it on to my boy in the same usable condition I got it in, so please bear with me. I know people are not supposed to re-blue90 pluse year old guns, but I believed in preserving metal).

So anyway, I had the gun re-blued by a very good gunsmith 35 years ago for my son and put it in the gun cabinet. Recently, I noticed when I tried dry firing the gun and working the slide, after the bolt locks up, and the trigger is pulled while dry firing, in order to work the slide again, the slide has to be pushed a slight bit forward before the action can be cycle.

When I used to use the gun for hunting forty years ago, it was one of the fastest cycling pump shotguns I had ever used. Any feed back as to what part needs replacement would be very much appreciated.

Actually, that is normal for any model 12. That is what keeps the bolt locked when firing, and when it recoils, the reward force really does the same thing, as you hold onto the forearm, so the gun can be pumped quick over it. There is a spring on the magazine tube that keeps the forearm pushed back, so that is how it supposed to work. You wont notice that when firing a round.