Winchester 94 Safe Handling

Warman62

Inactive
Hello All, I've been visiting the site for several months and I am impressed by both the knowledge and civility of the group.

If I had my druthers, my 1971 30.30 94 would be in the gun rack in the back window of my pickup truck but sadly, that era is a nostalgic and faded billboard viewed in the rearview mirror while driving down a dusty highway.

Living in the brighter world with less pastels of today-land, I carry the rifle in a padded case locked in a compartment inside the aforementioned truck. As regards the battery of arms of this particular firearm, I am interested in the group's opinions as to whether I can safely keep a round in chamber or not.

I gravitate toward the conservative empty chamber but if an extra round is safely available, I would opt in that direction. Many Thanks!

Last edited:
A Winchester 94, safety notch and no safety in a bouncy truck? Empty chamber. Unless you need extra ventilation in your truck.

Empty chamber is the only way to carry or handle a lever action rifle. Especially in a padded gun case. There is a distinct possibility that the hammer can get moved to full cock and you don't know it because you can't see it. Then as you slide it out of the case the trigger can catch or be bumped and it discharges.
Loaded chambers and gun cases are a sure recipe for a horrible event.

The idea that you can carry an extra round puts you at a mental disadvantage. You need to make sure of your shot is good, and make the first round fired count. Don't employ the idea of if you going to miss with the first round, I will get them with the second shot.
I've heard it said that you can never miss them fast enough to kill them.

Loaded chambers and gun cases are a sure recipe for a horrible event.

Absolutely agree!

From a mechanical safety standpoint, empty chamber, absolutely!