Win. Defender vs. Rem. 870 HD

AKrob

First, I apologize if this topc has already been beaten into the ground. I did a search and couldn't come up with what I was looking for...

I want to get a pump shotgun for home defense as well as IDPA side matches. I've seen the Winchester 1300 Defender for $250 bucks around here, and was wondering if any of you have any suggestions regarding this gun especially in comparison to the Remington 870 HD.

Thanks,
AKrob

I have very little experience with Winchester shotguns, but (and I'm sure this will be echoed many times), you _cannot_ go wrong with the 870.

Try 'em both and see which you prefer. My guess is the quality/craftsmanship difference is small enough that personal preferences would be the deciding factor.

Mike

------------------
"A human being should be able to change a diaper, plan an invasion, butcher a hog, conn a ship, design a building, write a sonnet, balance accounts, build a wall, set a bone, comfort the dying, take orders, give orders, cooperate, act alone, solve equations, analyze a new problem, pitch manure, program a computer, cook a tasty meal, fight efficiently, die gallantly. Specialization is for insects." -Robert Heinlein

I too don't have much experience with the Winchester 1300 but can say that the Rem 870s
are very reliable shotguns for competition and home defense.

I have an 870HD that I fixed up to a home defense shotgun which includes Sure fire forend, ghost ring tritium sights and some other things. The 870HD cannot take any law enforcement accessory such as the extended magazine tube but that can be fixed by removing the notch that is near the end of the magazine tube by having your gunsmith drill it out. Everything else on an 870HD can be changedout for a shorter stock or a police grade forend.

Both (unless you get a lemon) are good tools designed and built to serve you well.