William Manchester's statement

I'm reading William Manchester's Goodbye Darkness: A Memoir of the Pacific War.

"Not only was he the first Japanese soldier I had ever shot at; he was the only one I had seen at close quarters. He was a robin-fat, moon-faced, roly-poly little man with his thick, stubby, trunk like legs sheathed in faded khaki puttees and the rest of him squeezed into a uniform that was much too tight. Unlike me, he was wearing a tin hat, dressed to kill. But I was quite safe from him. His Arisaka rifle was strapped on in a sniper's harness, and though he had heard me, and was trying to turn toward me, the harness sling had him trapped."

I'm not sure what a "sniper's harness" is but I think he means the rifle sling. I'm no expert on WW II Japanese sniper equipment and my knowledge on equipment is limited to what Peter Senich wrote. Unfortunately, Senich crossed the Styx years ago so I can't correspond with him like I used to.

Thought's on Manchester's statement?

Sorry guys but I should have mentioned the "sniper" was inside a grass hut. Manchester burst into the first room and discovered then and there that there was an inner room. Fully cognizant that he may have alerted the sniper, he burst into the second room and fired one round with his 1911. He missed and hit the grass wall. His second shot hit the fellow in the femoral artery and he bled out. Manchester promptly threw up and soiled himself.

My first impressions of the context and subject matter would have me leaning toward the "harness" being an improvised sling to hold the rifle steady in the hut.

Last edited:
Just a guess, but being as Japanese soldiers were notorious for tying themselves (and their rifles) into the tops of trees, using an improvised rope arrangement, it is quite possible that the Japanese soldier could have been wearing one, and was caught in the hut on his way to, or from a tree-hide.

otherwise, the statement sounds fine to me, written in the jargon of the era..