Why no rifle rounds in +P

ckpj99

So, I have a sort of dumb question. There seems to be +P versions of pretty much every type of handgun round. Though, I've noticed that there's no such variation in rifle rounds.

I'm pretty new to rifles. I've only really gotten into them in the last couple years, and I've only been reloading about a year.

So what's the deal with rifle round pressures. I have a hard time believe that no one has even said, "man, this round would be better with a hotter powder."

My only theory is that this has happened, but the new loading is just called something new.

That being said, it seems like there's such a wide variety of rifle rounds that pressure would be more of a concern.

I'll be purchasing a .30-30 soon, and I've seen all sorts of rounds. Buffalo Bore has a 190 grain load that travels as fast as some 150 grain bullets. It has to be generating a lot more pressure. If normal guns can handle that much pressure, why aren't there 150 grain loadings that go much faster?

I'm just a bit confused. Can someone explain to me why I don't see +P rounds? Why is there such different in commercial loadings for a lot of rifles (especially hunting rounds)?

I'm wondering too, the 45/70 comes to mind, 280 Rem vs. 7 mm Remington Express, 244 Rem vs. 6 mm Remington, and the 223 Rem vs. 5.56 mm NATO.

Of course then, what would we have to complain about, while on the internet?

The only one that comes to my mind is the .257 Roberts +P. When it was first introduced, it was loaded to a tad bit lighter pressure & velocity. My only guess is they wanted to keep the diffrence apparent for folks with older semi autos or otherwise possible weaker actions that were designed for lower pressured ammo.

I'm guessing they could have made the 6.8 Rem SPC into a +P when it was boosted up to the SPC II specs. Why not? I dunno, as far as I know- the only way to tell which pressured round you have is by looking at the box.