Why do people swear by 1911's?

Two World Wars. It's a fact that without the 1911 the Germans would have won both World Wars. Also, it's chambered in a caliber that not only kills your attacker but erases his or her family from existence, Doc Brown style.

There are a number of non-silly answers. But to me you don't buy a CMP 1911 because you just want a 1911. You buy one from the CMP because you want something with some degree of history.

Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk

Quick question, and I'm not assuming you're one of these people - but why do people swear by 1911's?

First question should be "Have you ever fired a nice 1911?". If you have, that should end the questions. I avoided 1911s for a long time when I started shooting. It was big and heavy, and only held 7+1. I wasn't a big fan of the .45 ACP either.

I started out with a Sig P228 which was a DA/SA 9mm that held 13+1. I liked the simplicity of no external safeties and the simple take down of just flipping a lever down. I also preferred the light snappy feel of the 9mm recoil compared to the slower and heavier push of the .45 ACP.

Fast forward a few years as I started expanding my collection. I bought a Sig P245 and I couldn't shoot it well. I was very accurate with my P228 and P229 (.40 S&W), but the P245 and I didn't get along. I ended up trading it at a Gun show for a pre-owned Les Baer Thunder Ranch Special. That started the love with the 1911 for me.