Why are .38 spl and .357 mag the same diameter?

baj

I'm new to all of this, and I'm a bit confused about why .38 spl and .357 mag bullets/barrels are actually the same diameter. Are they actually .38 inch or .357 inch or neither? I'm guessing that there is some funny historical reason for this, which I would love to know. I also read in a recent post that .44 isn't really .44 inch. Are other calibers loosely named like this? Thanks for your insight.

I agree. It is very frustrating. Especially to someone who is new to the hobby. 38 Special and 357 Magnum both employ projectiles that measure .357. You can use 38 Special ammo in 357 revolvers but not vice-versa. As I am sure you are finding out, the name of the cartridge may or may not give you the true dimensions of the bullet. A good example of this is 357 Sig, which actually launches a 9mm(.355) projectile. 44 Magnum revolvers fire bullets of both .429 and .430 measurement. Get yourself a copy of Cartridges of the World. It will give you in depth descriptions of every cartridge imaginable. It is a must for anyone who is into shooting. Have fun with it. And hang in there . You will get used to the different nomenclatures.

.38 refers to case dimensions. .357 refers to actual bullet dimensions. Why? Probably because .357mag sounds better than .38mag. Marketing at its best. A .44mag is really only .429 or .430, so it should be called a .43mag, but that doesn't sound as cool. A .45acp is really .452. A .444 Marlin is just a .429 bullet with a really thick case. And on, and on, and on.....

The quick answer is.... Marketing.

When S&W introduced the .357 Magnum in the 1930s, they wanted a catchy name that differentiated it from its older parent, the .38 Special.

The .38 Special, developed in the 1890s, was actually a variation not on the existing .38 Smith & Wesson round, but on the then-military-standard .38 Long Colt.