Why a new stock on a Rem 700?

Radiator

I have my eye on a new Rem700 SPS. A friend of mine says I need to replace the stock, I think he is biased cuz he is a part-time gunsmith and LOVES doing all kinds of things to his guns.

So I figure I would direct this question to the forum, are there any reasons for getting a new stock, aside from cosmetics?

Thanks,

Mike

I have a new 700 SPS Buckmasters in .270. It shoots sub MOA groups with it's "horrible" plastic stock. And it's "terrible" trigger adjusts down to 3 lbs. and is smooth as silk. It's not necessary. In fact it makes no sense at all to me. :)

attachment.php

attachment.php

Attachments

• post1.jpg
    post1.jpg
    218.1 KB · Views: 157
  • post2.jpg
    post2.jpg
    88.1 KB · Views: 162
Factory stocks are usually not free floated and flex when shooting, it depends on what you want to do.
Look into XLR Industries or AICS so that you dont have to bother with a smith and get what you pay for, these chassis completely free float your rifle and add maybe 2-3lbs of GOOOOD weight for stability unless your weak and i mean no offense but i read alot of people complaining about recoil or an extra lb, me myself iam 210 and 6.1 so i have no problems carrying a cannon in the woods. I stay away from stocks that need bedding and all that because technology has brought us to a whole new setting of using a chassis and doing the work yourself not to mention the warranty involved and in the end it adds up to the same amount, and now you have detachable magazines.
exmp:: mcmillan around 600 to 800 bucks, bedding by smith-around 300 bucks so you see by that time you couldve bought a nice dependable chassis that you can keep and later maybe drop a different action/barrel combination and switch calibers without having to rebed or any of that.:cool:;)