Who is the criminal ????

Dark Avenger

Here is a story typical of Massachusetts thinking. Someone steals a gun from a locked car, adn the owner is a criminal. Now I know why they call some people M*******s. (I can say that as I am a lifelong resident).

Patriot Ledger

2 teens steal gun from car
By SARAH COFFEY The Patriot Ledger

PEMBROKE -- Two Pembroke juveniles will be
charged with breaking into a car in the nighttime and possession of a
stolen handgun, Police Chief Gregory Wright said.

The gun was stolen Dec. 30 from an unlocked vehicle parked on Furnace
Lane, Wright said. The semi-automatic .38 caliber gun was in the center
console, loaded without its safety on, he said.

The owner of the car and the gun will be charged with leaving a firearm
unattended, Wright said. His license to carry firearms has been revoked,
he said.

The two juveniles are 14- and 15-year-old boys, Wright said. Their names
were not released.

They are also charged with breaking into 16 other cars.

Wright said Pembroke police did not find out about the break-in involving
the gun until Friday.

Police recovered the gun in a drainage ditch off Queen Brook Road that
day, he said. The gun had apparently been in the ditch since the night it
was stolen, Wright said.

Police knew there was a gun missing for a week before the discovery, but
didn't know who it belonged to or where to find it since the theft had not
been reported.

``It could have been a problem. It's unnerving to find out it was out there,''
he said.

Wright refused to identify the owner until he is charged with a crime.
Pembroke police have filed an application for a criminal complaint against
the owner, he said.

He was afraid to tell police about the missing gun because he didn't want
to be charged with a crime, Wright said.

Copyright 2000 The Patriot Ledger

Transmitted 12-JAN-00

Article received on Wednesday, January 12 2000 at 11:46 EST