Which Shotgun?

dpoguer

Inactive
Hello all. I must start by saying that I am a novice shooter, who knows "nothing" compare to most of you on this forum. With that in mind, I need your help on choosing a shotgun for home defense. I am undecided between the Ithica 87 and the Franchi 612V. Does anyone know anything about these shotguns? Help!!

for home defense? really, don't choose a shotgun, get a revolver, If after taking a basic defensive handgun course, you still think you need a shotgun, then only a Mossberg 500/590 or Remington 870 will do. Then take a Level I defensive shotgun class...

There's lots of old threads about HD, and some research should give you lots of input.
I do NOT recommend a shotgun for HD for a novice. After training a few hundred rookies,I know that it's the hardest one to reach proficiency with.

A good first gun/HD tool is a used, DA revolver in 38/357. Stick with US brands. After becoming proficient with that, then you may want to consider getting a shotgun, IF you will practice with it frequently. The only people I've seen move past bare minimum with a shotgun are those that lIKE shotguns and use them recreationally.

And that applies here at Casa McC. Wife and Daughter do not like shooting shotguns, so there's 38 caliber alternatives available. The HD 870 is mine.

9x45,I disagree. While a confirmed 870 fan, I believe that ANY reliable shotgun of at least 2 shot capacity is a great HD tool in TRAINED hands.

Hello All-

After choosing your favorite sidearm, a person in the market for a "home defense"
shotgun would serve themselves well by
looking into the possibility of obtaining
a Remington 870 Marine Magnum. This gun will accomodate either the 2-3/4" or
3" shells; and is of the very superb Marine type finish. You may want
to run a search under mariner type shotguns
for further information on this fine weapon? :) :D

Best Wishes,
Ala Dan, N.R.A. Life Member

PS: Forgot to mention that this is a 12 gague.