Which rifle?

RPM

For those of you who remember, I've been browsing around for a bolt action rifle for some time now. I have no experience with bolt guns, so I really don't know what I'm looking for. I have it narrowed down to two choices. One is an old springfield that has been rebarreled and restocked, action is excellent, but barrel and stock need some work. I could have a new barrel installed and redo the stock myself for not too much money.OR, I could buy a new production gun, remington, savage, ruger, etc. Like I said before, I have no experienc with bolt guns, but the srpingfield seemed better crafted, more "solid" and the bolt worked much smoother, whereas the new commercial guns I handled all seemed fairly cheesy. Am I right in assuming that the springfield would be a better choice? I really dont know anything about them, but just going by feel, thats the way I'm leaning.

My own preference has been for older guns for two reasons: they tend to be better adapted for stripper clip loading (more combat-worthy) and their actions appear more solid. Also, they have aperture sights instead of open "express" sights. Further, even a collectible 1903 would set you back less than $400 and a sporter would be under $200....modern rifles start at $450 or so.

Owned and respected a coupla 03s, and wish I still had at least one of them. Here's a comparison...

Pros:

Tough, accurate, reliable. The feed system and extraction is based on the Mauser 98, and argumentatively the best ever devised. Price wise, available for less than the new stuff.

Cons:
Some built under wartime conditions were a little rough, like the 03-A3 two groove barrels. Very early Springfields also had bad heat treating on the recievers,and some are still out there.

If you're going for a good using rifle, get an 03, tweak and cherish it. For use, it can't be beat.