Which rifle?

shamster

I'm completely new to rifles. Only experience is with handguns, but want to get into the rifle. What is a good and versatile rifle that is accurate and affordable? Main use is for outdoor target range, but I would like something that is suitable for hunting (deer and other big game) as well. Also, should I go with .308, .223, or something else? And is the Remington M700 a good rifle to start with? Have read some good things about it.

Oh, forgot to add previously...I would also prefer a bolt action rifle. Capacity is not that important, but the more, the better I guess.

.223 is not suitable for hunting big game. It far from the best for deer either. Check the hunting forum. There was a big debate about whether it is suitable for deer at all. Some states don't allow it.

The price of the ammo and the force of the recoil may be a big factor in how much you shoot in practice, though. Something to consider.

Why not try it in stages? That is, find a bolt-action .22 rifle, preferably used and not fancy. Get used to the iron sights, and then maybe put a scope on it and get used to that. Primarily, the ammo is really cheap.

In the meantime, haunt a gun store or two and feel and fondle to your heart's content, comparing brands, varieties and prices. And, start reading the gun mags for comments, and browse TFL...In the long run, it will save you a ton of money and you'll still have a lot of fun.

However, if "Ya just gotta", you won't go far wrong with a 700 in .308 and a Simmons scope. No bankruptcy, no recoil, adequate accuracy, and suitable for varmints and deer.

(I don't mean this as "advice", on the 700, just that you're okay with it...)

Best regards, Art