Which primers are softer

Roland Thunder

I have an M&P CORE 9mm Pro Series pistol that I had the Apex trigger kit installed on. I have a problem with light primer strikes, about 3 or 4 rounds out of every 100. I've talked to others that have an M&P 9mm with the Apex kit installed that have that problem as well. I was advised to switch to Federal primers (I had been using CCI). I tried Federal and that seemed to have solved the problem. My local gun store does not have Federal but sometimes they have Winchester. My LGS has told me they would try to get me some Federal primers but they did not know how long it would take to get them in.

I am wondering how Winchester compares to Federal or CCI as far as hardness.

Federal is the way to go. Had similar problems in my Marlin .357Mag rifle. Changed to Federal205 and problem was solved. Apart from Federal primers never to miss a strike, they give low extreme spread and are exceptionally accurate.

I am no expert and don't use CCI much, but my Dad says they are hard primers, i mainly use Winchester or Federal and have never had a real issue with either

CCI & Win are about the same in my use. Seating them, the CCI, at least in Small Pistol size, seem a hair larger, ie. harder to seat.

Federals are considerably softer in all sizes for me. I only use them in 9mm loads destined for my Sigs which have a lighter firing pin fall than my other handguns. Fed primers show pressure signs (flatter primers after firing, deeper firing pin indentations, and machining marks) far sooner than the CCI's and Win's.

HTH's Rod

Federal is the softest and supposedly the most sensitive priming compound.
As rodfac says, they will scare you with "pressure signs" in below maximum loads that don't faze Winchester or CCI.

Some years ago when Winchester quit nickel plating their primers, I tried some in my CCS Python and they nearly worked. Not quite 100% but definitely softer than plated.
So try a few.