Which .22LR rifle?

shamster

I'm completely new to rifles. All my experience is in handguns. I've been thinking about getting a .22LR for long range plinking fun with a scope. What's a good model that's not horribly expensive? Also, how hard and time consuming is cleaning rifles compared to handgun maintainence?

Consider a Ruger 10/22, or an older Remington Nylon 66. Both are inexpensive work-horses, and require little or no maintenance. Unless you shoot some corrosive type ammo (foreign mfg'd import)or some with low-quality waxed lead bullets, then you shouldn't have to clean your bore on a .22lr as they tend to be self cleaning.

I'll second Mykl on the Ruger 10/22. Inexpensive, reliable and if you ever want to customize it, there is an entire cottage industry out there to meet your every whim.

------------------
Vigilantibus et non dormientibus jura subveniunt

Hey shamster,

I'll throw out the wild card... Marlin Model 60 is a surprising rifle. I didn't think that I would like it... but it was inexpensive ($150 w/ NICS & TAX). Buddy of mine found a pawn shop with lots of these in storage. He did better - 3 for $180!

I own both the Marlin 60 and a 10/22. The Marlin HITS alot better than the Ruger. I have had both rifles on hand with newbys and the one with the Marlin SHAMES the 10/22 user. Just a very accurate rifle out of the box.

Marlin is tube fed, and there really aren't alot of accessories for it. 10/22 can be accessorized like crazy. I hear that it is not to tough to get them REALLY accurate, just add a little $$$ and you are ready. Here in Reno, the 10/22 is about 50% more to purchase new.

When in doubt, try before you buy if you can!

HTH

I hope you check out the Remington 597 before purchasing. Remington brought this out about 2 years ago to compete with the Ruger 10/22, and it's a better gun for me.